Guest 03patelj

Guest 03patelj

Hey guys,

August 2005 MCAT was my first attempt. This is what I got

PS = 11

BS = 10

VS = 6

WS = M

I am not defending myself here but I spent only last 15 days before the test date studying for MCAT. I didn't take any courses either, all the studying was totally independent. Looking at the amount of time I devoted how do you guys think I did? And will I be able to improve myself if I study seriously next year?

Even though I am in my third year I already applied for five medical schools (McMaster, Ottawa, Toronto, Western & Queens) out of which three (Toronto, Western & Queens)require MCAT. My cumulative GPA for past two years is 3.77/4.0. I have quite a few volunteer activites as well as 5-10 extracurricular activities (I know they are not :eek but I thought it wouldn't hurt to include them) Besides I also received two scholarships and have few accomplishments. I don't have any research experience though. What are my chances of getting an interview or are there any at all? (I am pretty sure ur answers will be " This guy is out of his mind :lol ")

Thanks in advance. :D:D:D:D Please include any suggestions.

Guest Yangzie

My only suggestion is: take Princeton Review prep course and take it seriously.

When you dish out 1400 dollars on a 2 month course believe me you'll improve. Constant practicing will make you naturally a better test writer; you simply cannot help it.

A competitive MCAT score will help you immensly as it will make up for your GPA.

good luck.

Western and Queen's are out as your MCAT scores don't meet the cutoffs. Although Toronto does look at the "whole package" as a 3rd year student you really need to stand out. The low VR score will definitely raise a flag.