Premed 101 Forums

Will I have enough time to study for MCAT?

Guest dave927

Guest dave927

Hello, I'm in 2nd year right now and I'm planning on taking my MCAT this summer. However, I was wondering if it is possible to take half a credit (human brain and behaviour at utsc) over the summer and do a summer research program and still have enough time to study for the MCAT.

I've already taken bio, physics and chem first year and i'm taking cell and molec bio and organic chem second year. I'm pretty sure that will help me and cut down my study session for those sections on the MCAT.

Guest blinknoodle

This seems to be a common question.

Yes, it is possible to do, but you know yourself best and what you can handle (and how much spare time you'd like).

I personally worked 40 hours/week, did ECs, while enrolled in a PR course; it worked out fine but I was a bit tired by the time September rolled around. I'd recommend not working full-time (say 30 hours/week) and take one or two weeks off before the big test day.

See these old threads about the same query:

p084.ezboard.com/fpremed1...=168.topic

p084.ezboard.com/fpremed1...=514.topic

p084.ezboard.com/fpremed1...=495.topic

p084.ezboard.com/fpremed1...D=32.topic

Hope this helps.

-bn

Guest dave927

thanks a lot blinknoodle, i've made up my mind. I've decided to do the mcat, some ec, summer school and research program. I know I won't have no spare time, but that's okay. I'm just going to bust my ass till the very day of the mcat and then parrrttyyy.

dave

• 3 months later...
Guest s sadry

i'm in a similar situation

doing an NSERC, organic chem (second half), and the PR course.

i hope it won't be too exhausting. can someone offer advice on how much time you should be putting into PR aside from class time? i really want to maek the most of the course, especially since i'm paying so much! :eek

- sharon

Guest s sadry

i forgot to add...my chm247 exam will be between the 15-19th.

my mcat will be on the 20th.