Premed 101 Forums

Summer school while studying for MCAT?

Cruciex

Hey all,

I am planning on doing physics and English pre reqs (U of A requirement for med school) during summer school. I despise English and I'm not very good at physics and this don't want to take it during the fall/winter because they'll definitely be gpa droppers (summer school courses aren't weighted in your gpa, or so I've read and been told).

I am planning to take the MCAT this summer. It's the last year before the exam is changed, and I would prefer to not have to do the new one if I can do well in 2014.

I'm in second year. Some might say well why don't you do these courses on the summer after third year? Well, I am wanting to get a position in research that summer.

So I guess the question is, what's the best course of action for me?

Take summer school courses (2 in spring, 2 in summer) and the MCAT in the same summer?

Take the courses in the following winter along with research? Is this do-able to any extent?

Any other viable options?

I'm not sure. Might just have to suck it up and take the courses during the regular school year. Any feedback would be great.

I've done summer courses before and generally they're much easier then the regular school year equivalents. Having said that, they have compressed schedules which means you're covering more material in shorter intervals.

If your'e planning on studying ahead of time , then maybe you can pull it off. If you're planning on doing the SN2 3 Month MCAT study schedule, then I highly doubt it.

You'll more than likely drop your GPA in those classes and have a lower MCAT score. The summer GPA probably wont be detrimental, but it still isn't optimal. The lower MCAT score will definitely limit your options and you may just end up re-writing in 2015.

I'd pick one or the other. MCAT this summer or classes this summer.