Premed 101 Forums

Courses for MCAT

MathewsMD

I'm currently in first year and am planning on writing the MCAT after 2nd year (during the summer of 2015) when the new MCAT in 2015 rolls out. As of now, I am completing general courses like Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Psychology. I'm also planning on taking Organic Chemistry I and II in the summer along with Linear Algebra, hopefully while working a job from 7 am - 5 pm.

Now, I just had questions regarding courses that should be taken to fully prepare for the MCAT in 2015. From what I've read, the Biological and Physical Sciences section is not changing too much, so any feedback from those of you who have written the MCAT and maybe have a bit to talk about MCAT 2015 would be helpful.

So, I plan on taking these courses in 2nd year (after taking Organic Chemistry in the summer of 2014):

Full year of Second Year Calculus (1.0)

Full year of Human Physiology (1.0)

Half year Biochemistry (0.5)

Computer Science (0.5)

Waves and Oscillations (0.5)

Modern Physics (0.5)

Intermediate Electromagnetism (0.5)

Biostatistics (0.5)

Now, the problem I am facing is that I want to take 3 other courses before the MCAT in 2015, and these are Cell Biology, Genetics and another Physics course. I am trying to see if the Biostatistics and Computer Science can be completed later since they are requirements for my program, but I'm not sure I can, yet. I was just wondering how important taking 2nd year Cell Biology and Genetics would be in being prepared for the MCAT. Also, I know it's hard to tell since it's not even out yet, but how in-depth should someone be in the Psychology/Sociology section? Would a single Psychology course in first year suffice?