Premed 101 Forums

Secondaries...Not receiving them

Guest jjd322

I am waiting for secondaries and not getting them from the schools. These are schools that say they send secondaries to ALL applicants. Should I request from the schools, or do they actually screen applicants but just not saying it?

Thanks moo.

Some of the top tier schools. I guess I just want to try my luck and if I don't make it then I don't make it. Canadian schools are good and I'm fairly certain I'll get in somewhere in Canada (I did two years ago but rejected it) but for some odd reason I just really want to study med in US, despite my very low chance of acceptance. Consider me weird...

By the way moo, I'm wondering what my chances are of getting into the states. I understand they concentrate a lot of gpa and mcat, but also look at the whole package. My AMCAS gpa is 3.87 (science 3.82). MCAT horribly horrible (7VR, 10BS, 9PS, Q). But I thought my grad degree might make up for it. I completed a master's from Cambridge with one first-author publication, presentations and conference. Now doing phD there on a scholarship. Some leadership, sports, editorial and lots of hospital experience. I know my MCAT is bad and therefore I have very low chance of getting in US schools, especially the good ones. But I thought I'd give it a shot since they do look at the whole package before deciding.

Honestly, what's my chance of getting in?

PRETY DARN GOOD I WOULD SAY.

If you are doing your PhD at Cambridge and have previously been accepted in Canada.

I don't see why you have so much dought about getting into the top tier schools in the US.

check out mdapplication.com to get some stats on previous accepted students. Plus I hope you applied to DUKE. That would be my first choice if I had your stats. Since they have one year for research. YOu would be able to skip it or do research for one year.

Hi Docbil,