Premed 101 Forums

Just Chose Dentistry As A Career Path Need Help

So i am choosing to pursue dentistry as a career.

I am currently a 3rd year student in a Bsc degree i switched to this bsc degree from a previous degree and i am projected to graduate next year (if i take 5 courses in the spring) or have to do a 5th year if i spaced my courses.

Now here are some issues; i havent written the DAT yet, when can i apply to dentistry school? do i need a 4 year degree in hand to apply? or can i apply without a degree in hand and if accepted opt to take a 3 yr general degree and enroll into a institution..do schools do this?

Do dentistry schools accept based on cGPA or do they do wgpa calculations? I also have been taking 5 courses every fall and winter semester up until my 3rd year second semester (this current sem) i messed up bad in one class and dropped it so it does not kill my gpa since it is already lacking.. I am currently enrolled in only 4 courses which is still considered full course load at my university but what doors am i closing by only having 4 courses vs 5  this semester?

My CGPA right now is roughly 3.55-3.6

not sure about wgpa 's 

projected gpa this smester is 3.9-4.0 (taking only 4 courses)

what are my chances at US / canadian / aussie schools?

Do i even have a shot at canadian schools anymore? is it worth applying to canadian schools knowing that an australian school will guarentee me direct entry back to canada and is easier to get into

When you can apply is dependant on the school. Some require a completed 4 year degree, others allow you to apply after you have completed 3 years of a 4 year degree program. In either case you need to be enrolled and planning on completing a 4 year program.