Premed 101 Forums

Post Your Income And Location

I am an associate dentist who's been practicing a relatively short period of time. I am looking to relocate because of the recession in Alberta. In my experience the single most important factor in a dentist's earnings is the location. Location determines how much dental work there is to be done per dentist, which determines income. 

Let's put all the anecdotal income information in one thread as a research project. It will demonstrate how income varies depending on location. For me personally, I need the information because I am trying to decide where to move to. With my monthly loan payments, my continuing education budget and my "fun" budget, I need about 150K take-home minimum, and I'm interested in where this is and is not reasonable. Please help me make my life decision. 

I'll go first and it will look like this: 

Average monthly billings/gross after lab: 40-45k

Percentage of billings paid (if associate): 40% 

Hours worked per week: 40

For average monthly billings, put a general range but do not post an anomaly and try not to overestimate because of your ego or whatever reason. For example if you billed 60k one month, your average monthly is still 40-45k. Putting 40-60k would be confusing.

Put as much information under location as you can without identifying yourself. 

I am an associate dentist who's been practicing a relatively short period of time. I am looking to relocate because of the recession in Alberta. In my experience the single most important factor in a dentist's earnings is the location. Location determines how much dental work there is to be done per dentist, which determines income.