Premed 101 Forums

RN thinking about medical school

If your 3rd & 4th year GPA's are actually up in the +3.8 region you may be able to apply to a couple of Ontario schools that use weighting.  Check out Queens, Western or maybe UofT pending your grade spreads.  You likely need to do a 2nd undergrad and achieve atleast +3.85 for 2 or 3 years to be successful at an interview in Ontario.

20 hours ago, PhD2MD said:

Congrats on the RN.

Have you considered the advanced nursing options you have? Cardiac/neuro surgery nursing, anesthetic nurse etc...lots of good options with 2/3 the compensation of an MD but much less training and liability.

Thank you very much.

I have considered masters and contemplated/ envisioned many other opportunities for advancement in nursing but I feel strongly about the MD and I'm currently thinking about going down that route.  cheers

• 1 month later...

I am an RN student in Ryerson.i have few question about the humanities/laguage or social science prerequisite of UofT.what u guys had as your elective and how we are eligible with our subjectes like ana physio but not physics etc.I am an immigrant student so i know very little about those factors.please drop any info if u have.Thanks in advance.

• 4 weeks later...
On 11/13/2018 at 6:16 PM, uncle23 said:

Pre-req's/ science courses: nothing .... basically just took pathophysiology in my nursing program;  I have not taken biology, chemistry (general or organic), physics etc...

****Action plan ideas:

- (?) post baccalaureate program.  Caribbean as an option for my situation....?

- supplementary courses with adequate course load to meet school requirements?

- second undergrad?

- Masters in Nursing .... for sure don't want to be do any more nursing education

As you can probably tell by my name, I am also taking the RPN-RN-MD route, and I know about its difficulties well. I have a few comments on your situation.