Premed 101 Forums

Need Guidance

Hello, PreMed101 community. 

I am in my 4th year of undergraduate studies in a health-care professional program. My first three years were mostly academic with in-class learning and pass/fail skills courses. I was not initially gunning to get into medical school, however with my experiences in the health-care environment in my fourth year I really find myself wanting to learn more. I want to learn more about disease processes, the human body, the genome, the various cell processes and in general be the primary source of health-care? if that makes sense.

In High-school, I was usually in the highest or the highest percentile group for any assessment. However, after being admitted into the program I thought I wanted to go into for post-secondary that drive vanished away and my GPA became sub-par. My GPA breakdown is as follows:

1st year: 3.71 - due to 2 bad classes (if can drop: GPA 3.88)

2nd year: 3.59 - due to 2 bad classes - (also three pass/fail courses) (if can drop: GPA 3.72)

3rd year: 3.74 - due to 2 bad classes - ( 1 pass/fail course) (if can drop: GPA: 3.81)

- summer : 1 pass/fail course; summer GPA: 2.8 (all time low motivation)

4th year - all placements (pass and fail courses) (2 full pass/fail courses (15 credit each - 30 credits))

cGPA (including summer courses) - 3.55 (MAC GPA)

cGPA (not including summer courses) - 3.68

wGPA (best two years) - 3.715

If I was allowed to drop pass/fail courses and not have it count towards the allowed dropped courses for GPA calculation I would not be in this position right now.