Premed 101 Forums

Input needed! Or another "What are my chances"

Hey everyone!

I graduated from an Honors Bachelor of Health Science in Medical Laboratory Science from UOIT in 2012 with a 3.44 average. My mind wasn't totally set on med school (but it was lurking in there) and I decided to apply after my 3rd year to no success. Currently I am completing my first year of a 2 year course based Masters of Clinical Science Pathologist Assistant Program at Western. So far I'm at about an A average. Now that I've been doing some serious thinking, and I want to get into med school. So I've been thinking about doing a second undergraduate degree (starting September after I graduate my masters) to boost my marks as well as get some volunteer/EC stuff (Previous; Agricultural society, Figure Skating Assistant, Karate Assistant) since I want to be "more well-rounded". As well, during my next undergrad taking the MCAT is a must, since I didn't score too well during the first one.

Just looking for some advice/thoughts! :)

Yeah, I think a second undergrad is necessary. Kill your gpa and the mcat and you should be set. In terms of your ecs, don't just do them to be well rounded (like padding your cvs). Do Ecs, that you're truly passionate about so you can obtain meaningful experiences from them. Well that's my 2 cents anyways.

The fact that you'll have your masters will be looked upon well by some school. ie uoft.

Just keep at it and you'll be able to obtain your goal!

I'd recommend re-writing the MCAT this summer and reapplying next year to queens and western. Your gpa is competitive for both queens and western (they look at the last/best 2 years), so if you meet their mcat cutoffs, your chances of getting an interview at both schools would be great. A second undergrad will only help you for ottawa and you'll need to get a 3.9 to meet their cutoff. This is on the assumption that you had taken a full course load in your last two years.