Premed 101 Forums

Health Sciences vs. Medical Sciences

First time navigating the site and didn't realize there was a specific Western board. I'll copy and paste a thread I posted in the general discussion forum.

_______

I am currently a High School student who accepted the Health Sciences program at Western. Just some concerns, I would like some feedback .

I understand that Health Sciences is more a social science regarding health care system and the history of medicine etc. which is why I preferred it over Med Sci. I also planned on taking the Health Sci. with Biology module to keep the science aspect with bio, chem, physics etc. that the students in Med Sci. would be taking.

Another reasoning I had to pick Health Sci. over Med Sci. is that I have way more flexibility in courses, with Bio and Health Sciences as my only required courses. I still plan on taking chem, physics etc. to be eligible for the Bio module. I still want more courses social oriented though, as I am interested in Law School as well. I thought this program would allow me to do this vs. Med Sci since med sci. basically has your first year outlined for you. I also feel like I could work my courses around to have a lighter course work if need be.

That being said, I started talking to many people older than me, and they all have this puzzling look that I picked Health Sciences at UWO. They say that people who want to be chiropractors, nurses, physiotherapists etc. pick health sciences, and that it is not a direct line to medicine. Not to take away from those careers obviously, but Med school to become a doctor is a more desirable goal. Did I make a mistake by not taking Med Sci?