Premed 101 Forums

Pharmacy school vs undergrad

How is pharmacy school vs undergrad? Workload/amount of content etc. I'm thinking of a career change. I did my BMSc at western and working in software development for maybe 3-4 years, maybe go into pharmacy school since I have the marks? (will apply and see what happens if I plan on going this route). I feel like there's less job security in software developer career vs. pharmacy career. I'm 24.

Thanks

Pharmacy in my opinion isn't worth it. Spend some time as a pharmacy assistant and at any retail chain and you'll see that's it just a glorified retail job with more stress and corporate pressure.

Also not alot of opportunity for career advancement.

I am currently finishing six months as a pharm assistant at superstore and some days it's okay and other days you want to cry.

Pharmacy school is mainly a system-based approach (digestive, respiratory, oncology, infectious disease, etc.) to learning pharmacology (how drugs work) and pharmacotherapy (considering the patients' needs and characteristics in the treatment of their disease). Mostly memorizing drug compounds and their mechanisms of action, adverse effects, and profile for drug/disease/food interactions. The primary outcome being able to use that knowledge to analyze treatments and adjust doses/choices of drugs according to the patient and ensuring adequate follow up (effectiveness of the treatment, tolerance, and patient's ability to take the therapy as prescribed). 

IMO, retail pharmacy practice varies according to the pharmacy. Understaffed and busy pharmacies will focus on the "distribution" aspect of pharmacy rather than prioritizing clinical interventions. Other pharmacies might maintain clinical practice as a priority (following up, communicating proactively with prescribers, promoting health), which is pleasant. However, customer service skills and priority/stress management are necessary with retail pharmacy - it's still a business, after all.