Premed 101 Forums

What are best courses to take at U of T?

Guest willsanna

Guest willsanna

Hi all,

What are the best courses to take at U of T to prepare myself the best for MCAT and eventually for med school ? My background is engineering.

I am planning to take the life science pre-reqs from the following:

- PSL 300H1

- PSL 301H1

- Human Biology 265H1

- BCH210H1

- ANA301H1

- Bio150Y1

- Bio250Y1

- or any other course you may have taken and find quite stimulating and interesting at U of T

My biology and organic chemistry background is not that great now.

thanks,

Willsanna

Guest Steve U of T

Physiology is very useful for the MCAT, and although I'm not there yet, I think it will be useful for medical school as well. Will they allow you to take either PSL300 or 301? I think those are for neuroscience students only. You may have to take both of them (i.e. PSL302). If it is possible for you to take only half, I'd probably recommend 301, which is the 2nd half of PSL302, covering respiratory, renal, cardiac, GI physiology. PSL300 (the 1st half of 302) covers neuro (in way more detail than you'd need), as well as endocrine. 301 will give you more useful information for the MCAT than 300. Don't expect PSL302 (300/301) to bring up your average. A lot of people have difficulty with this course, and don't do as well as they hope. It's certainly possible to get an A, although this is one of the courses at U of T people complain about most frequently.

HMB265 isn't the best taught course around, and it goes into a lot more detail than is needed for MCAT genetics. If you have no background in genetics, it might come in handy. I don't imagine it'll be very useful in medical school, although that's just a guess.

BCH210 is a pretty well-taught course, and I'd certainly recommend it.

I haven't taken ANA301, so I can't comment on the course itself, although I know embryology really won't help you on the MCAT. However, it may be useful in medical school.