Premed 101 Forums

Application questions

Guest rebel spirit

Guest rebel spirit

Hello!

I will be applying for med school for admission in 2007. I know it's a bit early, but I'm already starting to think about the application process. I'm a non-trad applicant - 30 years old, I have a MSc but have been out of school for quite some time, mostly working overseas. I'm wondering if you could offer me advice as to how to best approach the personal essay component of the application. When they ask you to describe "an experience and its effects which has had a significant impact on your life" what tends to make the better application? Describing some horrible tragedy you lived through, some noble decision you made, running a marathon for the first time, overcoming a fear, travel, etc.

Also, when it comes to describing why you chose a career in medicine, what's the best approach? For me, I've spent a lot of time working in the health care field alongside doctors and have come to respect the work they do. The time I get to spend with patients truly inspires me. I love it! I get a lot from my interactions with them, and I believe they would say the same about me. I can't imagine anything more fulfilling than having this as a career. However, when I tell people this, I'm always told "well don't write that in your application" or "don't say that in an interview." I want to be honest about my intentions, but if I can describe it in a more appealing way, I will.

Any thoughts?

Guest jgray2

keep in mind that both essays are, when combined, officially only worth 5% of your pre-interview score. however, why i think it's important to write good essays is because these essays will either make the reviewer more lenient/harsh towards the other sections of your applications.