Premed 101 Forums

Bilingualism

Guest DeMan14

Guest DeMan14

hi

I was enrolled in French Immersion from Elementary school until I graduated from High School. I checked 'bilingual' on my Ott U application, but I havent really spoken French much over the past 4 years. Any suggestions on how to refresh my French speaking abilities in the next two weeks?

Thanks

DeMan

Guest abertn

Bonjour,

Je suis dans la même position. J'écoute la radio française, la télévision française et parle en français avec mon mari, ma mère, mon frère, et étrangers, etc. J'ai téléchargé des podcasts français que j'écoute sur le métro et j'éssaye même de panser en français. J'ai mon entrevue ce jeudi (le 2 mars) à 8h30, alors je commence vraiment a paniqué! Bonne chance!!

Guest Julie Neutron

Hi,

Julie Neutron again!!

I just dont see why Ottawa has to facilitate both languages. Most of the world speeks english anywho!!

Thats Julie Neutron's 2 cents for today!!! 8o

Guest wassabi101

Hey guys,

I was in a similar position (panic) when I received my interview in French three years ago. You'll be in a room speaking and listening to french and having to express yourself in French, so the biggest things to concentrate on, in my opinion are:

-practice *expressing* yourself in French (your passions, your strengths, your weaknesses, your best and least favorite experience...anything that's emotionally involved)- practice having mock questions with your friends and/or family (on the phone even is fine)

-practice *your medical and/or other jargon and terminology* in French- make sure you can talk about that research manuscript you wrote in english, in French (this for me was the most difficult)- practice with your research supervisor, find some similar manuscripts that have been published in French, spend a half day at chapters skimming through the French medical literature, etc.