Premed 101 Forums

WGPA cutoffs?

Guest fingerscrossed06

Guest fingerscrossed06

I am new to this all, and I have seen on a number of posts that people will state WGPA cutoffs for different schools. I was only aware of GPA cutoffs pre-application, such that they say only apply if you are 3.0 and above etc? Where are all these other numbers coming from?

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Ottawa ask OMSAS to calculate a weighted GPA (WGPA) (using a unique formula) which they subsequently use to determine whose files shall be reviewed. Once the WGPAs are calculated they take the whole applicant pool and stratify it according to applicant place of residence. Depending on the place of residence, different WGPA cut-offs are applied, e.g., an Ottawa resident will have a lower WGPA to meet than will a Toronto resident.

Other schools in Ontario (and across the country) use the GPA in different ways, e.g., McMaster has OMSAS calculate a GPA using all courses ever completed; UofT uses just those courses completed during a regular school year, etc.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

The WGPA scheme does not exclusively apply to Ottawa.

Northern Ontario uses the same formula to calculate a WGPA cutoff for its applicants. This occurs at Stage 2 of the admissions procedure; after the WGPA for each candidate is confirmed, interviews are sent out accordingly (stage 3).

Guest fingerscrossed06

Thanks guys!

So how do people that have been posting know the cut-offs for this year? Where did they get them? -and does anyone know what they were?

From what I have gathered talking to Denis many times, the cutoff GPA is only used to determine who will get an interview. Once the X amount of people have been invited for an interview, the slate is wiped clean and your undergrad GPA no longer factors into whether you will be accepted or not.