Premed 101 Forums

GPA calculations

Guest roboboy69

Guest roboboy69

I know that UWO only looks at two undergrad years for GPA determination:

1. Best Full (30 credit hours, or equivalent) Year

2. Any other year where 30 credit hours have been taken

My question is, what if you only have one of the years that meets or exceeds the min. GPA cutoff and not the other by a slight margin? Will Western reject my file outright? My undergrad studies included a CO-OP program so all my semesters are bungled up (alternating between work and study, so not all my courses run from September to April; I've had to study full-time in the summer as well by virtue of being in the CO-OP program).

It is not easy for me to go back to school and complete the "special year" as indicated in the UWO website. Especially since I graduated from engineering, how am I supposed to go back to school and take 5 full courses (3 of which have to be senior level) in my area of study?

Any thoughts?

Short answer is that you MUST have two full time years that are both independently greater than the minimum. If the cut is 3.65 and you have a 3.6422224, that unfortunately doesn't make the cut.

As for the special year, you can take courses from any discipline, as long as they meet the senior level requirements and you have not started a new degree. (You are registered as a continuing student).

I would recommend that you call the admissions office to get details of how your co-op program will affect the determination of 'years'...that is the best way to figure out these often complex situations. But, being a co-op student won't be held against you!

Good luck!

Guest roboboy69

Aneliz,