Premed 101 Forums

Freaking out

Guest idreamofmeds

Guest idreamofmeds

Hi guys,

I need advice.

All throughout high school and last year (my first year) I was an above average student. My goal this year was a 3.90 which was definitely attainable. However, last semester I pulled a muscle in my lower back right before midterms. As a result I screwed up all my midterms b/c I wasn't allowed to right makeups and I could hardly sit down for more than 10 mins. (I had a doctors note and was in conatct with the Deans office everyday for a week and they couldn't do anything for me) Anyways, long story short, my marks last semester were really affected. So, now the highest possible GPA I can get this year is a 3.80 (4.0 in 5 courses). I have basically beome obsessed with calculating my GPA. I have every possible situation worked out. Now, I am finding that this obsessiveness is causing me to do WORSE on my exams b/c I have put so much pressure on myself that whenever I go to write an exam I can only think about how many questions I can get wrong before it messes up my goal of a 4.0 in that course. My long term goal has always been to get into med school after 3 years, and I am reallIt's actually getting to the point know where I get myself so worked up that I can't sleep b/c the only think I can think about is whether or not I will get accepted.

More than anything I just wanted to get that out. If anyone has any advice/thoughts they are much appreciated.

Thanks

Guest Ian Wong

Sit back for a second and take a deep breath. Now take another one. Do this for a minute. Feel a bit more relaxed yet?

The first thing you need to do is talk to someone. Friend, family, someone you trust. You've already acknowledged that worrying about med school is affecting you, and impairing how you're doing. Talking with someone will help you unwind and share your feelings.