Premed 101 Forums

did anyone take Kaplan?

Guest bc

I personally took the Kaplan course and felt it worked well for me, your mileage however may vary.

Kaplan worked great for me as I dont have a science background and I felt the inclass instruction to be quite useful. In addition, the structured nature of the course really helped to keep me on track. Lastly, Kaplan has an insane amount of practice material....

Having said all that, some of my classmates didnt find the course that great, and felt they could do a better job on their own....

I think if you stuck to the exact outline that Kaplan provides you will do well on the DAT....

As for how well it prepared me..well I guess I have a week until I find out.

Best of luck either way.

Guest Chowchilla

I took Kaplan this September and I hated it. We had one instructor who taught all the sections and he didn't know what he was talking about. He admitted as much: "I'm not that good at Chemistry, but all you need's in the textbook". Same thing for Biology and Reading (there's not much to teach for reading actually). I regret wasting my money on the course because I ended up studying by myself. You can buy separate tests elsewhere on your own and end up saving hundreds of dollars. In conclusion, buy a good textbook (ironically, Kaplan's book is great), buy some practice tests, get lots of soap, and study on your own.

Haha, I was in your class Chowchilla. It wasn’t a total waste of time. Taking that class had positives and negatives.

Positives:

If you are type of person who needs focus then obviously Kaplan is for you. They give you guidelines, so you can study accordingly. Obviously having a person give you hands on experience to help you carve can be positive.

Negatives:

If you are a self-motivated person: screw Kaplan and study on your own. Buy Kaplan, IQ books and package and practice practice practice.