Premed 101 Forums

The Dental Dilemma!

Guest Spencer

Guest Spencer

Hi Dental Folks!

I'm not sure if many of you are acquainted with my particular situation. I'm a recent high school graduate (Class of 2005) and I have been perusing and occassionally contributing to these boards for the past two years and today I found myself in a pretty big dilemma! I was accepted to the Bachelor of Dental Science program at the University of Melbourne in Australia. The program is 5-years and upon graduation will allow students to practice general dentistry in all Australian states, New Zealand and the UK (I'm not sure about the last one!). Tentatively, I was set to go to McGill to begin my undergrad career in Arts and Science...however...with this offer...I'm not quite sure what I should do.

I would appreciate any insights you could give me!

I know that the qualification is not transferrable to Canada and that I would need to enroll in a Qualifying-Program of some sort plus write the NDEB exams in order to get the DDS-equivalent.

The tuition will be roughly ~$36,000 AUD per year...and the course info can be found here: www.unimelb.edu.au/HB/areas/MDENTAL.html

Some additional questions I have...is it difficult to get into the Qualifiying-Program at UofT? Is there anyway I can get SOME transfer credits?

So yeah...what would you do in my shoes? I'm just curious what other people think is the correct course of action!

Spencer

Guest marbledust

Spencer,

Just out of curiousity, how many programs in how many different disciplines in how many countries did you apply to?

:rollin

Congrats on the acceptance--but I thought you were hardcore meds when I recently chatted with you in the chat room.

Guest Spencer

MARBLE!

You've found me out...*scurries away*

LOL...Only dentistry...and only this university.

I wouldn't have it any other way =P.

Who knows...I might become an Oral Maxillofacial Surgeon...maybe that was my plan all along...then I'll be meds as well as dents!