Premed 101 Forums

Graduate package

Guest jjd322

Guest jjd322

For all who will be submitting a graduate package this year, I am wondering what kind of experience/publication everyone's got. Looking at the accepted student from last year I got an impression that all graduate students had big packages of many publications, conferences and presentations. I finished my master's degree in UK in one year and so only have one first-author publication, along with a conference and several presentations. I guess my chance of getting in will be pretty slim if everyone else has "big" packages???

:rollin I was also gigging about the big package comment!

But seriously, I'm not sure where you're getting this idea that all the grad students accepted have papers in Science and have been nominated for a Nobel prize. I was a grad applicant and at the time I had a one first-author paper and few conference abstracts. I know several people in my class with MSc's who don't have publications (but presumably some other evidence of productivity).

Basically they just want to see that you didn't sit on your @ss for a year or two waiting to get into Medicine. Even if you don't even have an abstract, but your supervisor can write you a strong letter of support and maybe explain the reason for no pubs I don't see that being a huge limitation.

Guest jjd322

Thanks for all the comments everyone. I was just quite worried since I have no clue where I stand as a graduate applicant. Fingers crossed that I'll survive the whole application process.

Guest docbil

Normally, I would think that:

Masters level at UofT. You should be working towards your first article. If you completed your masters you will have it in press or submitted and maybe 2-4 abstracts.

For PhD, multiply that by 3 or 4. Depending on impact factor, 2-3 Articles. 6-15 Abstracts (local, AKA IMS scientific day, National, Canadian Society of _______ or Canadian ______Society, and one intenational. US Conference.