Premed 101 Forums

Personality

Guest Brutus

Guest Brutus

Hello... I've been poking around here for a little bit and have a question for you guys. I was wondering if it's possible to get accepted into Med. School if you don't have the 'typical' personality of the average applicant.

I'm a high school student planning to get a degree in medical laboratory science. Now, lets assume four/five years down the road that I have competitive GPA and MCAT scores, research experience, no volunteer experience, and poor interview skills... is it at all possible to get into Med. School?

I'm pretty introverted.. not very empathetic.. This means I probably won't have any volunteer experience, (if I do it will be for selfish reasons, so why bother?), and it also means I'll probably do somewhat poor on the interviews. (assuming I get that far).

So, once again, do you folks think I could have a shot at getting in? Assuming marks are high and recommendations sound? The reason I ask is that I'm considering a career in pathology. I still have a lot of time to change my mind, end up with a 2.0 GPA, etc... But regardless, assuming the above hypothetical happens, I'd appreciate any input on my chances.

Thanks for your time.

Yeah, I would say it's possible to get in... but not at every med school you apply to. Certain schools stress certain things and look for certain personality traits (For example, MacMaster probably looks for more "mature" applicants, whatever that means). There are some research heavy schools that are more focused on numbers and less on personality. (Wash U in the US especially, UT in Canada.) Thing is, we need doctors in every specialty right now, so if you want to be a pathologist, I think that's great! Not many people aspire to be a pathologist and I have a lot of respect for those that choose the field.

Guest Lactic Folly