Premed 101 Forums

chances

Guest willsanna

Guest willsanna

I am an engineering graduate from university of waterloo. I am preparing myself to apply to medical schools in Ontario.

However, people are discouraging me to apply to schools in Ontario, or even in Canada. Their main reason is that I was not born in Canada even though I did my high school and university very successfully here. I am quite good at English and I kept good average through high school as well as during university. I want to work in Canada, not in US.

I have 2 questions.

1) Is it true that I have very slim chance to get into a med school in Ontario because of my background:\ ?

2) I still have to take my Life Science and Chemistry courses at U of T. I am planning to take BIO150Y1, CHM138H1 and CHM139H1. Would that suffice the Life Science requirements for U of T?

Thank you.

Willsanna

Guest arjuna83

Hi Wilsanna,

As long as your a citizen or permanent resident of Canada, you'll be fine with medical schools in Ontario.

However, you might need to do one more life science course. You've mentioned that you will be taking BIO150Y. That counts for only 1 full credit. For UofT meds you need 2 full life-science credits. Remember, at UofT Chemistry and Physics are NOT considered as life science courses.

Arjuna

Guest willsanna

Hi there:

What other life science course I may be able to take parallel to BIO150Y1? For most of the courses I have seen in Life Science listings for U of T, I don't see any other course I could take without taking BIO150Y1.

Thanks,

Willsanna

Guest arjuna83

Hi,

I know, many (most) of the upper year bio courses require BIO150 as a pre-requisite. You could try taking first year psychology, as UofT considers that life science as well.

Guest willsanna