Premed 101 Forums

Writing = M, should I bother?

Guest Sandman AK

Guest Sandman AK

I am starting the med school application process for the first time and have noticed that most schools require a minimum of "N" for the Writing Sample in the MCAT. Here's my background:

I scored

Verbal Reasoning: 10

Physical Science: 13

Biological Science: 12

I have a 4 years honours degree in Biochemistry from Queen's University and I am half way through my Masters of Science program in Biochemistry. GPA (depends on how you calculate it and if my Grad school marks are counted) may be right at the cutoffs of most schools. ~78%

I understand the requirements for med school changes every year so what schools do I have a legitimate chance in getting an interview? Thanks for any feedback.

Guest arjuna83

First of all, congrats on those excellent MCAT scores!

Unfortunately, the M is going to jeapordize your chances at two Ontario schools: Queens and Western. Both these schools have extremely rigid cutoffs (Their writing cutoffs were Q last year I think; and the chances of them getting lower this year are minimal).

Although UofT says any score below 9 or N would jeapordize an application, there's evidence of them looking over one section of the MCAT. If you look at the stats on the "accepted/waitlisted/rejected" thread, you'll find that there are a few applicants who were accepted with an 8 verbal score.

McMaster and NOMS don't require MCAT, so your good to go in these schools.

Guest avisee

I would say that how you calculate your GPA really will make a huge difference, since you are so borderline. I have an 83% which works out to a 3.5, which is very bottom-of-the-line, so hopefully your 78 is composed of a few good years or else doesn't have a lot of variation in marks (since low marks will pull down your GPA more so than high marks will pull it up).