Premed 101 Forums

Taking courses at other Universities

Guest skiboot

Guest skiboot

A quick question here,

Would taking courses from various universities affect how an application is viewed? My dillemma is as follows: I'm trying to fit in all of the courses that I plan to take this coming fall/winter, but due to some scheduling conflicts/ courses full, etc, I'm looking at the option of taking the courses at another university instead. That way, I may be able to prevent having to take spring/summer session next year (I'm currently in a Bsc after degree at UofC, and thinking of trying to make the courses fit at the UofA - I did my first degree at UofA, and have no issue moving back to Edm).

I'm not even sure if this is possible at this late stage. I'd probably have to apply as a visiting or special student or get special permission to take the courses there, since I've probably missed the regular deadlines to transfer.

If I was able to take the courses as special student, would this affect how my application for med was viewed (moving schools, special student status, etc)?

Just wondering,

Skiboot

Guest aneliz

As far as I am aware, no. The only thing that schools are looking for is:

1. You are a full-time student at a recognised school

2. You are taking a full course load of appropriate level courses

3. You are enrolled in some type of cohesive program

4. You have a good GPA

5. You have passed the pre-reqs

Many people take courses at multiple schools... you can check with the med schools that you are interested in to be sure, but I don't think it will be a major problem. You will have to submit transcripts from both/all schools when you apply though... even if the original school grants transfer credits for the 'visiting' courses at the other.

Guest skiboot

Thanks,