Premed 101 Forums

ec during the rest of summer as a hs?

Guest archchivalry

Guest archchivalry

Hello.

I'm just wondering if there's gotta be anything to do

during rest of the summer

As a highschool student, I applied for hospital to

volunteer but it was too late so I didn't make it.

What's the ec that I should really participate?

Is it OK as long as I really like it?

Even though I really like it, shouldn't it be

something that is considered as an experience?

(Like going swimming pool everyday won't be count)

I know there are limited opportunities as a highschool

student, but any idea?

I'm just thinking how to spend the rest of the summer

before I'll be so busy as I enter university.

Thanks.

Guest peachy

If you read through the old messages, there are at least ten or fifteen threads with suggestions for extracurriculars. Start out with the ones linked to from the FAQ, and maybe check out these ones as well, or search through the old threads yourself.

http://p084.ezboard.com/fpremed101frm34.showMessage?topicID=1015.topic

http://p084.ezboard.com/fpremed101frm34.showMessage?topicID=1025.topic

http://p084.ezboard.com/fpremed101frm34.showMessage?topicID=926.topic

http://p084.ezboard.com/fpremed101frm34.showMessage?topicID=845.topic

If you're in Toronto, I loved volunteering at Bloorview when I was in high school (and university). I always felt that I was making a difference when I was there, and I learned quite a bit as well.

But what I would really do, if I were you, is sit back and think about what it is that you REALLY want to do. Two months of uninterrupted time is worth a great deal! Five years from now, what will you wish that you have done? Learned something, visited somewhere, spent time with someone, relaxed, done some art, ... ?