Premed 101 Forums

In-depth health related volunteer opportunities???

Guest RXK

Hello,

i'm an undergraduate student in toronto, who has been volunteering at a hospital for several years. my experience at the hospital has been partly paperwork and patient/family interaction and not a lot of clinical exposure. so, i was wondering if anyone could suggest some organizations that allow their volunteers to get more involved. also, i have heard that volunteering with st. john's ambulance is a great opportunity to get some in-depth health related experience. and, if anyone could elaborate on their duties with this organization, that would be very helpful!

Thanks,

RXK

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

Volunteering with Planned Parenthood of Toronto (PPT) can certainly offer you some clinical exposure. I've been a volunteer sexual and reproductive health counselor with PPT at the Bay Centre for Birth Control (affiliated with Sunnybrook & Women's College Hospitals) for over five years. There, we work within a team of doctors and nurses to provide care to women of all ages. We counsel clients (and often their partners too) on birth control options, decision-making surrounding pregnancy, and we also perform pregnancy tests, etc. We chart our observations and interactions just as the nurses and physicians do (and wade through the affiliated paperwork). Overall, it's been an excellent opportunity to not only observe, but also function, within the clinical realm.