Premed 101 Forums

Any oldies?

Guest crazygirl2009

Guest crazygirl2009

Hello Everyone...

I just recently discovered this message board and find myself addicted to it!!

I am petrified in some ways at starting school...although in an excited sort of way!

I am wondering what everyone's background is....is there any "older" students?

I am in my early 30s and leaving behind my career as a physio, my life and my boy to pursue this. Is there anyone else in this boat?

Drop me a line!

Guest AliatUofT

Hi there

well welcome to the forum..

i am a bit younger, i am 28 and turning 29 in Dec. (which from what i know is getting up there in age ;) but i always believe in the saying "you are only as old as u feel")

i too feel a bit like you, very anxious yet exteremly excited..

and i cant wait to get the show on the road, i am sure it will be great.

i have been doing research for the last 4 years, i wouldnt call that a career but i was really enjoying my time as a researcher, but i am glad at least that i am going into a career that will let me continue that as well.

cant wait to meet everyone , boy these months seem to pass by so slowly

take care

cheers

Ali

Guest satsumargirl

Hey Crazygirl

Yep...I am leaving my life as a speech pathologist. But I am relieved to be doing so, I never really loved it. While I am happy about the career change, I am nervous/anxious about the lifestyle change. No income :eek and I'm worried that I won't learn as fast as I used to. (I found as school went on I became less motivated to memorize things, just wanted to learn concepts and I think there is alot of memorizing in meds...and I've never been motivated to memorize just for tests and that attitude of mine will just be worse now I'm sure!).

I met a dietician turned med student on my interview day and he said that the first couple of weeks are a bit of an adjustment but then you get into it and it's fine.