Premed 101 Forums

Queen's vs. Western vs. U of T Med school.

Guest not too sure

Guest not too sure

This is my first time posting, but I have been following this forum for a while. I have been lucky enough to gain admission into Queen's, Western, and U of T meds. But know I am faced with probably one of the toughest decisions of my life, and was hoping you guys could help me out. I did my undergrad at Queen's (and am guaranteed a $6500 scholarship for one more year), I live in a suburb of TO (but would get my own place in the city if I chose U of T), and am trying to figure out reasons to choose one school over the other two. I know in the end it is my own decision, but I would really appreciate the input of some of the more "knowledgeable" people out there, as I really can't decide. In terms of program, etc, which is the best school? Should I be looking for the school with the best reputation, or go back to my alma mater just because I'm used to it? Most of my school friends are applying to meds next year, so they can't really help me now.

ANY input towards my problem would be GREATLY appreciated, both pros and cons about either/all the schools I mentioned. I am the MOST indecisive person in the world, and this decision is one that will affect the rest of my life!!!

Thanks a lot!

Guest therealcrackers

You're not going to get a poor education anywhere you go. Congratulations on your successful application!

Queen's: don't know much about meds there --- sister did law, so I understand the sense of community and the strong pull of familiar turf. Relatively inexpensive, closely packed city. Med education seems to be really sharp there. Smallest catchment area in the province means less in the way of unusual cases...