Premed 101 Forums

"Anatomy Lessons, a Vanishing Rite for Young Doctors&qu

Guest moo

Here's an interesting article from the NY Times, about how anatomy is being phased out of many med schools. I think it's a good idea, and although using computers can never replace cadavers, I feel that anatomy is an ancient science that is becoming more and more irrelevant to the practice of medicine. Even as a surgeon, I feel that you will learn most of the anatomy during your rotations, not during a dissection in your first year.

By ABIGAIL ZUGER

Published: March 23, 2004

ver the centuries, dissecting the human body has evolved from a criminal offense to a vehicle of mass entertainment to an initiation rite.

In the Middle Ages, human dissections were forbidden. In 17th century Europe, medical school dissections were open to the public and often attracted unruly crowds cracking obscene jokes. By the 20th century, dissection had become the exclusive purview of scientists and a mandatory rite of passage for all doctors.

Advertisement

The scandals reported this month with donated cadavers at the University of California, Los Angeles and Tulane University are simply the most recent in a field long beset by abuses.

In 18th and early 19th century America, the public repeatedly rioted against doctors and medical institutions accused of dishonoring the dead. In 1878, the body of Senator John Scott Harrison (the son of President William Henry Harrison) disappeared from its Cincinnati crypt, only to surface in the dissection laboratory of a local medical school.

Now, though, the place of dissection in medical education is changing in ways that have not been seen before.

The hours devoted to formal anatomy training are sharply down in medical schools. Anatomy instructors are in short supply. Computerized scans and three-dimensional recreations of the human body provide cleaner, more colorful teaching tools than the time-consuming dissections of the past.