Premed 101 Forums

Summer After 1st Year - What to do?

Guest stevetilley

Guest stevetilley

Anyone else had this dilemma - I'm in 1st year at Memorial, this summer I've got about 9 weeks off, and don't really know what to do...

On one hand, I'd bet that by the time June comes around, I could use a couple of weeks of boozing in the sun! (heck, I could use a week of that right now!) At the same time, however, I'm wondering if I should be doing stuff (i.e. research) that will build my resume for residency/fellowship. The specialties that I currently have in mind are Anes, Cardiology, and Nephrology.

Espicially with the predicted shortage of residency positions, I would hate to think that 'wasting' my summer on the beach and at the bars would comprimise my choice of residency come CaRMS time.

Any thought/suggestions/sharing of personal experiences with this would be greatly appreciated.

Guest Unknown

</username>
		<dateline>1118448480</dateline>
		<title>Unknown</title>
		<pagetext>(This

(This post is missing and can not be restored)</pagetext>

</post>

<post>

<thread>Y</thread>

<threadtitle>clerkship responsibilities</threadtitle>

<threadviews>0</threadviews>

<threadsticky>0</threadsticky>

<poll></poll>

<username>Lorae</username>

<dateline>1076348880</dateline>

<title>clerkship responsibilities</title>

<pagetext>I've been talking to a former student from Western who says that during their clerkship they work as "first call" in the hospital. He says they are called first when anything arises and are expected to be able to independently deal with certain issues (low urine output, etc).

That is a huge difference from what I'm used to seeing where (at the university of alberta hospital) an RN cannot take any orders from a student intern - unless a resident is standing directly beside them ;)

I'm interested to know what level of responsibility is expected from clerks at each school...

Guest gucio93