Premed 101 Forums

Are cars needed?

Guest RachUBC

Guest RachUBC

Hey all,

Well , this is my first time posting. Figured now that I've been accepted I may be using this web site a bit more. Was just wondering about the need for having a car while in med school. I imagine there is a fair bit of commuting between UBC and VGH (if not in first year then a fair bit in the following years?). Is a car a necessity or does it make life a lot easier? It's not really financially feasible for me to buy a car (but hey, nothing about med school is financially feasible:b ). Does anyone have any suggestions as to whether I should consider getting one. Am starting to think that it may not be the best idea with the ridiculous parking prices...

Thanx :)

Guest ubcpharmer

Hi

Congrats on getting in!

In first year most of the classes are at the UBC campus with clinical skills and some pathology labs happening at VGH. Also once a week you will be going to a family practice office. This can be practically anywhere but the locations are usually accesible by bus or your partner may have a vehicle.

In my opinion, you can do without a car for the first two years. There is usually enough time to commute between locations and there are always people in the class who have cars and with whom you can carpool. In addition, there is the interhospital shuttle that goes from vgh to ubc hospital and back.

Guest canmic

Not sure if you are new to BC or not, but a big factor to consider if you are thinking of getting a car is the insurance...

If you are a relatively new driver, expect to pay about $200 per month for insurance in BC (2-way) on a basic small car.

The time you might be more likely to want/need one would be doing your rural clerkship (there may not be busses where you end up) or a rural or out of town elective/selective of some type.

Guest Jochi1543