Premed 101 Forums

Waiting a year before Premed. Advice?

Guest Takeayr

Guest Takeayr

Hi,

I am new to this forum and am glad that there are med students and med school applicants here to help.

I just graduated from Grade 12 in Saskatchewan. My career goal is to be a doctor. I have two years experience Junior Volunteering at the local hospital.

My main grade 12 marks were:

Eng 30 – 88

French 30 – 76

Biol 30 – 81

Chem 30 – 80

Physics 30 – 77

Math A30 – 83

Math B30 – 76

Math C30 – 73

My grade 12 average was around 80%. I understand that to get into med school you have to have

1) in the high 80’s in the 1st two years of premed

2) a good interview mark

3) pass the MCAT’s.

I believe that I do not have the academic background to just walk into U of S 1st year and raise my average 8 to 10% points.

I have chosen, therefore, to take off a year before going to U of S. I have a job in a doctor’s office and intend to do some remedial academic preparation. I wish I could take one night class while I am working this year and then just 4 classes in Sept 2006, but the rules say I have to take a full 15 credits per semester over the two years. This is correct isn’t it?

I think I am good at chemistry but weak at physics.

1) Should I take a correspondence/online Physics 100 class that would not show up on my U of S transcript?

2) Should I buy an MCAT preparation course that they sell over the internet?

3) Are there certain courses in the 2 yr premed that have the reputation for being the hardest?

I would appreciate any advice regarding how I should prepare myself to get in the high 80’s at U of S.

Thank you,

Takeayr

Guest RageoftheDragon

Don't do the physics thing, as Phys 111 is a pre-req.

Yes 30 credit hours over the year, 5 classes a semester.

For MCAT prep, buy somebody's used Kaplan book and study it for now, as things may change over the next 2 years. If they do, you'll want the new Kaplan book then. Might as well save money while you can.