Premed 101 Forums

Mature student with computers degree applying to meds

Guest barsha

I have a bachelor degree in Computer Information System. I graduated with 3.67 GPA. I am 28 years old. I have worked in software field for 5 years but wanna change my field to Med. Could you please help me with finding some answers as well as give me some directions?

1.* * * * I know I have to complete two years of Pre-req courses. While finishing up those courses do I have to declare a major/dpt? I assume the gpa of pre-req courses would count, right? Can I do Co-ops while finishing up Pre-reqs of Med school?

2.* * * * Most student apply for med school after finishing 2 nd year or 3rd year, do they finish their undergrad? Or they can just quit their undergrad and get into med school?

3.* * * * Does most of the people (who are interested at med schools) do volunteer work at summer or through out the regular semester?

4.* * * * I see people make a back up plan if any med school does not work out. As I have very little idea about health care fields, can anybody tell me what are the fields that I can go if I would not make it to med schools? I know there are lots of need for PT and Nurses, any other?

5.* * * * Do med schools look down upon matured student? Which are the med schools who welcome them most?

Thanks

Guest kaymcee

Hi barsha,

Welcome to the forums! I can answer your questions. There will be more people who answer and give their opinions (and correct me where I've gone wrong), so definitely check back here.