Premed 101 Forums

Electives at UBC

Guest davidlam

Guest davidlam

Hi,

I'm beginning to plan out my course schedule for next year and was wondering if anyone could recommend electives they enjoyed taking. I'm looking to enroll in something that won't bring my average down or use up a lot of my time. Any interesting subjects/courses/profs I should look out for?

Thanks,

David

Guest not rex morgan

I took Phil 120 in first year. It was actually known as an elective for engineering students to pull up their grades. No papers. It's called "logic and critical thinking." Our prof was ummm unique, so my experience may not be representitive. We had a midterm and a final. I studied for the final for a total of 2 hours and pulled off an A+. It's not all that interesting of a course, though. Psyc courses can be interesting depending on the prof. Again, depending on the prof, your grade may be pretty good. If you take lower level psyc, you can take the upper levels later and they are interesting. Biopsyc and abnormal psyc are said to be really good courses. I only took one summer course, and it was a practical archeology elective in England. I spent a month digging and got 6 credits. It was an amasing experience. I don't know if they still offer it, but check it out for next summer if you have the resources.

Guest davidlam

Hey,

Thanks not rex morgan, that archeology elective sounds really interesting - I'll be sure to look into it!

Thanks,

David

Guest Helmet33

ska,