Premed 101 Forums

need some advice

Guest nuck123

Guest nuck123

Hello

This forum is extremely helpful and hopefully some of you can give me some advice.

I am currently in my 4th year of pharmacy school and after much contemplation, I've decided that I want to pursue a career in medicine. However, I have quite a few hurdles to overcome and I was hoping that some of you could give me some advice.

I have quite bit of extracurricular experience and work experience and I have been accepted into a hospital pharmacy residency program that I am supposed to start after I graduate this May.

My problem is that I'm going to be graduating with a pretty low gpa. My gpa is around 74% or 75% and I know that I have to raise my grades significantly to make myself more competitive during the application process. Unfortunately, my grades have been consistently around 75% so I can't use the last 60 credit rule to my advantage.

I am wondering if it would be worthwhile for me to complete the hospital residency program or would it be better for me to go back to school to raise my gpa? Will the hospital residency benefit my application a great deal?

The options i'm considering are doing an MHA or MPH (I do have an interest in public health) or going back to UBC to do another bachelor's degree.

Your help would be much appreciated!

Guest TKP 123

75% isn't extremely bad if you look at the GPA breakdown of the people who are accepted.

I guess the question is "will you will be regreted after you decline your hospital residency, and go back to school just for the sake of raising GPA?" Seriously, how many subjects that you need to ace in order to bring your 75% overall GPA to something like 80%? You need to take a lot of courses, not to mention you have to ace them all pretty much.

How do you value the opportunity to go to a hosptial pharmacy program? Will you learn a lot from there? Do you think you will enjoy it, or are you already hating pharamacy?