Premed 101 Forums

Club Med

Guest TBell

Guest goodgye

Just out of curiosity, what would drive one to want to apply to ALL of pharmacy, and dentistry and medicine??

I know they're all health care, but they're just so different...:eek

Guest Lurkergonepublic
She wants Med, using Den as backup, and Pharm as backup for the backup

She should be sure to mention that in her pharmacy interviews. I'm sure they'd be thrilled to hear that.

My Dad once told me a story (not sure where he heard it or if it's just an 'academic legend') of someone who said in a med school interview that they really wanted to be a farmer, but incase that didn't work out, wanted a medical degree to fall back on. Aparently the guy didn't get in, so my Dad told me not to say that in my interview. Always good for some helpful advice, Dad is.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest UBCGuyFromAlberta

I am in my first year here at UBC and I haven't really seen any of that. I have only met maybe a half dozen people that admit that they are doing medicine.

Maybe I am hanging around in the wrong circles?!...

UBCGuy

Guest RoseSmurfette

Hi UBCGuy,

Actually, a lot of my science friends from first year wanted to go into research and not medicine...although that's changing as they've figured out that research involves a lot more politics and grunge work than they bargained for, lol. (I suppose that's true for medicine too - that there's a lot more paperwork, politics, and dealing with admin that doesn't appear in most pre-meds' dreams of saving people).

RoseSmurfette

Guest GundamDX

Nah, >90+ % of first year Science students will say they are interested in Medicine. Ok maybe 80% (a rumor I heard). The prof took a poll in my BIOL334 class (basic genetics) last year first term. Almost EVERYONE put up their hand when asked about interested in pursuing Medicine as a career.... :D :D :D

Guest sudoku