Premed 101 Forums

UBC Med school final weighting for selection

Guest shetland23

Guest shetland23

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I was hoping if anyone knows the weighting for UBC for interviews, GPA, MCAT, referee letters, for their final selection. I would appreciate it.

Thank you,

Jackie

Guest canmic

Not 100% sure about this year, but last year it was:

50% interview

25% GPA (I believe 15% overall and 10% last 60 credits)

25% non-academic (volunteering, experience, etc etc )

Interviewers also gave a score out of 10 for overall recommendation and from what I saw you needed a 9 or 10 on this one for it not to count against you.

MCAT, referee letters, pre-req average were only used in cases of 'tie' for the last couple of spots using the above weighting, AND to exclude people who otherwise had high enough scores to get in.

(ie: if you scored high enough on the initial score but got 4s on your MCATs or a negative comment on a reference letter they could reject you anyway)

Guest GundamDX

what exactly do you mean by getting a 9 or 10 to "not let it count against you" ? (re: interview recommendation score)

Thx.

Guest Parii

hi there,

I think what he/she means (and also what I think may be true) is that you should have a 9/10 or 10/10 for your recommendation score in order to be 'seriously' considered. A score of smaller or equal to 8 will not do you any great favour.

pari

Guest GundamDX

ok... then how much weight will this score carry? If it's a 50/25/25 split between other categories, which score will be looked at first? the overall /100 or the /10? or is the /10 looked at as the initial screen? ie. even if you have 92/100, if your rec. score is 8/10, you won't be considered; or is it used as a tiebreaker?

lol questions questions questions :P

Guest canmic

if you have 92/100 and an 8/10 you might get in, but if you have 92/100 and a 5/10 you probably won't get in...