Premed 101 Forums

Medical School Preference

Guest farmfreshdroppings

Guest farmfreshdroppings

Curious,

For those of you who have interviewed at multiple schools, which school would you like to go to and why?

farmfresh

Guest sn0w0wl

I interviewed at Calgary and UBC. I'd probably choose UBC (IMP) as my first choice as I plan on living permanently on Vancouver Island (I'm a BC resident). Though I must say I was impressed by the students at Calgary, and it seems like a good program; I'm just worried about opportunities for my sig. other and that the 3 yr program may not give me enough time to decide on a residency choice (I'm pretty open right now).

Guest Tousie

I have interviews at UBC and McMaster. UBC (or at least IMP) would be my first choice, also because of my sig. other. However, the concept of turning down a school seems so insane to me... I just want to get accepted! Anywhere!!!:b

That said, both schools, both programs and both groups of current med students have really impressed me, so I think I would be really happy at either!

Tousie

• 1 year later...
Guest adduction

Hey everyone

I actually have a question in my answer for you guys. Please give me your two cents if you have any ;)

I was interviewed at UBC Med and U of A Med. I was waitlisted at UBC Med (May 13) and accepted at U of A Med (June 2). My wait list at UBC cleared (June 7)!

So now I'm trying to decide between UBC and U of A but I think I'm leaning towards vancouver.

My question is ... is there an advantage in goign to a school you were immediately accepted in? (U of A) vs a school that wait listed you? (UBC). I mean...does the INCOMING class rank have any bearing on anything? If I was waitlisted at UBC I'm obviously near the bottom in terms of application rank so if that's factored in - say in residency selection it may influence my decision.

Anyway let me know, and congrats to all the acceptees out there!!!

Guest Ian Wong

Heya,

Congrats on your acceptances! :)