Premed 101 Forums

"Demonstrated Rural Experience / Interest"

Guest Apraxis

Guest Apraxis

Hi All -

I hope no one's going to jump down my throat for asking about this, but I'm curious as to what constitutes "demonstrated rural experience / interest". First, here's my situation:

I have 2 undergrad degrees (B.Sc. / B.A.). I received a gold medal in my second degree, and by NOMS calculations, would have a GPA of 3.99 / 4.00. I am an out-of-province student who has interest in applying to NOMS.

Essentially, I haven't had many rural / northern experiences (none, actually), as I've been tied down to my family for the last 20 years or so. Some of my family members haven't been in the best of health, which has restricted my geography greatly. I do have a number of volunteer experiences, some spanning several years; just not rural / northern ones. I am interested in living in a rural community, largely because I don't particularly care for large cities.

I am working as a research assistant at a university over the summer, but would like to undertake some rural / northern volunteer work here and there, if possible. Does anyone have suggestions as to what kinds of experiences would be helpful (e.g. hospice)? Secondly, what are your thoughts on how adcoms perceive an applicant's undertaking volunteer work relevant to a particular school a mere few months prior to application? I appreciate that there is little I can do, so I ask this not because I have a penchant for redundant questions, but simply because I can only spend the time I have from here onwards constructively; if that involves doing some rural / northern volunteer work here and there, then so be it.

Guest acarpent1