Premed 101 Forums

Part-time Anes

Guest ashylips

Guest ashylips

I overheard a doctor saying that there are quite a few anaesthesiologists who work part-time and fill in the rest of their time as GPs.

what about part-time anes with, say, public health?

(btw, i'm a first year med student, so there's quite a bit of the basics of different specialties that i don't know about)

Guest kosmo14

There are quite a few Family Docs who do an extra year of training in anesthesia. This qualifies them as a GP-anethetist. They usually work in a rural or smaller community hospital. You would never be able to work in a large urban or tertiary care center as that usually requires the FRCP anesthesia designation. I know quite a few that work part time as a GP-anethetist then the rest as a family doctor. As far as public health I can't see why you couldn't do that as there are some family docs that work in public health.

Guest Ian Wong

I suspect those are probably few and far between. Of the residencies that are set up for public health type things, if you are thinking on a more community/global level, then a community medicine residency is where you'd likely be heading. The other way would be to pursue a degree outside of the MD degree, such as an MPH or a Masters in Epidemiology, on top of your residency training.

If you are thinking public health on an individual patient level, then all sorts of residencies would leave you in a position to counsel patients on preventative care. The infectious diseases guys (ID is a fellowship of internal medicine or pediatrics) will obviously have a niche for community level infectious outbreaks.