Premed 101 Forums

Dilemma: Wait-listed... Re-write the MCAT?

Guest MD Hammer

Guest MD Hammer

Hi All -

I am asking for a bit of advice...

I am an in-province student and this past application cycle was my first time applying. I just finished my undergrad in Microbiology and Immunology, 3.6 gpa, MCAT Verb-8, Phys-10, Writ-T, Bio-11.

I have been wait-listed, but am not getting my hopes up, since I am in the bottom half of the Vancouver and Island wait-lists - so, I am in the process of preparing my application for next year and am looking for areas to improve. Since my gpa will remain the same during the next application cycle, I was thinking that my MCAT could perhaps be improved. Although UBC and other Canadian schools have traditionally used the MCAT as a mere flag, after taking a look at the MCAT stats, it is a bit unclear just how important the MCAT is. I just lugged my good old Kaplan books from the closet and it's a bit daunting - but I suppose all risks and decisions inevitably are...

For those who got in after several application cycles, how did you improve your application? Do you have any advice?

For fellow wait-listers, anyone in the same MCAT dilemma?

Thanks for your help!

Hammer

Hi,

If you are applying to other schools than UBC, you may want to consider re-writing. Queen's and Western don't use the MCAT as a flag...it is a cut-off that determines whether or not you get an interview. This year's cut-off at Queen's was 32 and I'll have to check on Western's but I think you need above an 8 on verbal. For other provinces outside Ontario, they favour in province students, so you'd need to have stellar application to get accepted. I don't think re-writing the MCAT would hurt...I think most schools use the best score, not the most recent. Of course, this decision is totally up to you and other factors such as how much time you have to study for the MCAT will come into play.