Premed 101 Forums

Disability Insurance

Guest physiology

Guest physiology

Did anyone go through that package on disability insurance?

Is anyone considering getting it right now?

I was leafing through the old UBC forum posts and Ian recommended getting it between M2 and M3.

I just don't want to waste money, especially when I don't have much to spend in the upcoming year.

Guest soapyslicer

Hi physiology,

Go and talk to MD management. I met with Kari Woo and she gave me a pile of info on DI. They actually work in concert with the CMA and UBC F of Med. She had a alot of good advice without trying to push anything. Her job is just to help you understand it all and then make your own decision.

Soapy

Guest jmh2005

I don't think there is a need to rush into disability insurance at this stage...I'm 11 months from graduating (hey, who's counting??) and I still haven't bought any. I will when I'm a resident however, but I would also agree with Ian's advice, once you start clerkship it might be a good idea, especially if you are hospital-naive (which I wasn't, having worked in several for 3 years before starting meds...its truly amazing what you can contract during your first year of full-time work in a hospital!!). All the best :)

Guest soapyslicer

Hi Physiology,