Premed 101 Forums

Stat 200

Guest dentisthopeful

Guest dentisthopeful

Hi, I'm an incoming first year student. I might have IB transfer credit for a full year of math and chem 121. I'm just wondering is it safe to skip 1st year math and take stat 200? It requires math 103 Integral Calculus as a prereq. But does this course use a lot of calculus and is it hard in general? Also, do you recommend skipping chem 121 Structural Chemistry?

Guest threeputt

STAT200 was one of the easiest courses that I took at UBC. I don't remember there being any integral calculus involved. I did pretty bad in Calculus, so I know it didn't help me much in STAT.

If you have transfer credit, math may be worthwhile to skip, as it's not really involved in later life science courses, but I wouldn't skip CHEM, cuz a lot of the info from that class is useful in the MCAT (maybe the DAT too, I dunno), plus IMHO, it's a much more interesting class than MATH. Of course, if you plan on taking any upper level courses in math, physics, chem, i would take the intro courses too. They are much more in depth than IB and will give you a better understanding for the upper-level courses. That's just me though - maybe you are a better learner!

Guest physiology

Hey

Stats 200 requires no integral calculus what so ever. Basically, if a course is "recommended" the prof is not allowed (or not supposed to) include material from that "recommended course."

However, the individual prof may assign a question that may be much easier if you understand a particular concept of calculus, such as Riemann sums for instance.

Stats 200 is a great course. It'll really come in handy if you land a research position. It's also not that difficult and my prof was great (Isabella Ghement).

Guest not rex morgan