Premed 101 Forums

VR Help: KAPLAN VS TPR

Guest IRM

Hi guys,

I studied almost everyday for about 6 weeks diligently in hope of writing the last MCAT, however, decided not to write it on Friday as I kept scoring 5-6 out of 15 in the verbal section of AAMC III,IV, and V [but did well on PS/BS (10-13)]. I had access to Kaplan/Gold

standard/AAMC practice items and the 5 practice tests.

I went through all of it over the past 6 weeks. It was very dissappointing not writing it - but I am pretty certain, I wouldn't have gotten an 8, which is what I need to get. I know VR is probably the hardest part to train for - but I have about 8 months to do all that I can.

So the question is how do I get there?

I usually have trouble finishing the exam (only get to about 7 passages)- so I know I need to work on that. I've started to read the Economist as per few earlier suggestions for speed and comprehension. Does it really help? Since there are numerous reading materials, where would I go for appropriate additional reading materials: philosophy/psychology/art journals? Some people have suggested reading sections of encyclopedia?

Do you think taking either Kaplan or TPR might help (Please note, I don't need their help in sciences, only VR). If I end up taking their course, which one is better ie. who emphasizes VR more. In addition, whose verbal questions are going to prepare one best for the exam.

Guest Kirsteen

Hi IRM,

That's unfortunate that you didn't feel confident enough to write this past weekend. When it comes to scores, it's so difficult to predict how you'll do--it so very much depends on how everyone else did along with you.