Premed 101 Forums

Advice on trying again

Guest DoNair

Guest DoNair

I would like some advice from all you med students and soon to be med students.

I'm a UofA student who just finished my BSc. I had applied (unsuccessfully) to many med schools including UofA this year. My pre-req average was 3.56 and cumulative GPA was 3.4, according to the UofA application. (Inclusion of recently completed 4th year marks could push the pre-req GPA to 3.63)

(MCAT was PS-11, VR-9, N, BS-10 & PS-12, VR-7, M, BS-12)

I also applied to grad studies and was turned down b/c I couldn't get funding.

So my question is, how should I go about trying again for med?

Many people on this board suggest doing another undergrad year to boost up the GPA. The problem with that is that no single year of my undergrad career so far has been stellar. Each years GPA hovered around 3.4 (highest was 3.48). So simply doing another undergrad year wouldn't really help; I'd need to do at least 2 full years. But at this point all I qualify for is open studies. From what I've understood, I would need a FULL course load to upgrade the med GPA which I can't do in open studies. The deadline for applying for another undergrad degree passed already so I can't do that.

What would you guys suggest I do? Should I just go for one of those shady Caribbean schools (I've been looking at St. George's Univ.) or should I stick around here and upgrade? (Keep in mind that if I tried to upgrade I might waste a year before actually getting back in the saddle.)

Guest Salkh

Seeing as you have an entire year open to you, I would do some traveling, or do some volunteering, either abroad or here. As long as it is something you are interested in, you will certainly benefit from it. Besides strengthening your application for next year, it will also be a great experience for you personally. Good luck.

Guest blinknoodle