<thread>Y</thread>

<threadtitle>Grad Student Interview Questions</threadtitle>

<threadviews>0</threadviews>

<threadsticky>0</threadsticky>

<poll></poll>

<username>swedeboy</username>

<dateline>1068253260</dateline>

<title>Grad Student Interview Questions</title>

<pagetext>I was just curious to hear any experiences from U of A med students with a graduate studies background and how it came up during the interview.

Where did their focus lie? Was it on how much you accomplished during that period, what your reasons for going into grad school were, or were they just interested in what your research was about? Anything...

And one final question. Did any of you apply during the first year of grad studies with the intent of deferring med school admission in order to finish up the degree? That's my plan for now but I'm not too sure how they would feel about it.

Swedeboy

I did a Masters and it varied at different schools how much they asked me about graduate school. For example, at Western they asked me a lot of stuff about my project and the lab and if I wanted to still do research, etc, etc. But at U of A I don't recall them asking me very many, if any, questions about my graduate work. I would be prepared to explain what your project or thesis is on, in brief terms, and I think it just depends on who your interviewers are if they will ask you a lot of grad school related questions. Sometimes profs are on the interview panel and I would imagine they would ask more research questions than clinicians would.

As for deferring, I wouldn't mention you are planning on deferring if you get in. I would think about what you really want to do, but in my eyes, if I were interviewing I would wonder why you were applying if you weren't even planning on enrolling! Other people may disagree, that's just my point of view.