Premed 101 Forums

Personal attributes

Guest XIAP

Seeing that this section is equal in weight to the MCAT this year, what would constitute a perfect set of points in the eyes of the review committee? I am an older student who is having trouble fitting my activities into the tiny boxes, and need this section to make up for one of my low MCAT sections. Any help would be appreciated, i.e. what are they looking for?

Thanks!:D

I really don't think there is one thing they're looking for, and I don't think if we told you what to write that it would really help you. When I look around our class, there is a huge diversity in everyone's backgrounds. Some people have volunteered overseas, but I haven't. Some people did two years of an undergrad, others have PhDs or Masters. I think you need to concentrate on showing you have a life outside of school, and that you are committed enough to stick with things when you start them. It is difficult to fit everything into the small space they allot, but I personally can't tell you what to write. Also, keep in mind that this is the first time the personal attributes section will be counted, so we have no way of knowing how they will be evaluating them.

Guest chiapet921

Hi there!~

Just a quick question as I'm filling out the application as well...how it looks on my screen is how the reviewers will see it right? Should I make an effort to format the layout a bit, or just try to use as much space as possible to outline my activities?

Also...that's the complete application right? There is nothing similar to a 48 item sketch required by OMSAS? So interview or no interview is determined solely by this section, along with GPA and MCAT?

Too many questions, but one more...Q #6 says:

" Is there anything else relevant to your application that you feel the committee should take into consideration? If not, please type 'NO'. "