Premed 101 Forums

Clerkship and the Strike

Guest physiology

Guest physiology

Are clerks supposed to respect the picket lines set up at BC hospitals?

Or are they considered essential workers? And what about PBL classes that happen at UBC Hospital? Have they been relocated?

Guest Ian Wong

Classes aways continued as best they could while I was a medical student. I assume they would now as well; of course, if your standardized patient doesn't show up, or worse yet, your REAL patients don't show up, then obviously there's nothing you can do but go home and watch TV, er, hit the books at the library.

As a medical student/resident, you have every right/obligation to be in the hospital, and the picketers understand that; you shouldn't have any difficulty getting by them, although the tension level in this particular strike is probably higher than virtually any in recent years.

Ian

Guest Ollie

Hi,

I'm not at med student (I'm a grad student). My lab is across the street from the BC Cancer Agency (surrounded by pickets), and I've had to go into both the BCCA and UBC hospital this week. I had no problems with the picketers, and I haven't witnessed of heard of any confrontation with people needing to cross the picket line. In fact I found the picketers to be quite friendly! So I guess that clerks shouldn't have a problem either. But as Ian mentioned, they may find an absence of patients!

Guest not rex morgan