Premed 101 Forums

how important is it to have work experience, really!

Guest richmond604

Guest richmond604

Hi all,

I'm applying for some med school next year hopefully. I have a question that has bothered me. How important is it to have work experience for an applicant? Is it absolutely necessary to have work experience? Has anybody got in to medicine without having some sort of paid work?

I have very little paid work experience but have quite a bit of volunteer experience (compared to paid work experience of course). Will this compensate for the lack of work experience?

I know having a "real" job shows dedication, maturity etc, but say if someone didn't need money, and decided to volunteer instead.....you get the idea

thanks,

Rich

Same boat as you Rich, I'm currently in second year.

I have plenty of volunteering experiences under my belt but no work experiences (that are paid) for the very reason that I don't need the money and that I wanted more variety and flexibility in the volunteer work that I pursued; couldn't get the same kind of experiences had I insisted that the work I did was paid.

So you would think that volunteer experiences should demonstrate just as much dedication and committment if not more than work experiences right? after all, you are sacrificing your time and energy to do something meaningful unrewardedly

Guest scrubbed

Briefly,

I don't think that it should be a problem. Inasmuch as medical schools shouldn't discriminate against people who have to do work during unndergraduate degrees and the experiences that they get from those work experiences, they shouldn't discriminate against those who do not elect to work.

As long as your volunteer experiences indicate commitment, exposure to a diverse array of settings, the ability to work with others, and the attainment of a personally meaningful experience, then you should be in good shape.

Take care.

Guest noncestvrai